I Hate The Word ‘Nappy’

Yesterday morning I was down in sunny Brighton waiting to get my exclusive braids done.
I call then exclusive because it is the Ghanaian method of ‘zipping’ which only a few in the UK can do.
(I say a few but after researching, I literally only know of this woman who does it).

I will let you guys know how it turns out in a later blog!

Anyways, whilst waiting, I was asked by a young lady via my Blackberry Messenger what I meant by “Naturally Curly”. [in reference to our Facebook group ‘Naturally Curly in the UK’.]
I explained to her that most individuals have curly hair in it’s natural wet state even if they were intricate tight curls as in an “afro”

She then answered that her hair is “nappy” because she is African.


I told her that her hair is not “nappy” and that it is a derogatory word.

This is what I wanted to get across to people…

I cannot stand words such as ‘nappy, kinky, kink, coarse, hard, tough’ etc
Such negative words constitute to the negative connations that black women/girls associate with their hair.
The history behind these words were never to glorify or celebrate ‘black’ hair, it was to label and set apart for other types of hair i.e Caucasian, Asian, Chinese aka ‘nice’ hair

Thus influencing females to want to change the texture, feel and look of their natural hair instead of embracing what God gave them.

I understand that people use such words to describe what their hair is, however, there are other words that can be used such as ‘thicker, fuller, tighter curls,’ etc.
With these descriptions, we can break away from the stereotypical words that we have been conditioned to use.

I believe that there is no such thing as ‘good’ hair or ‘bad’ hair only ‘healthy’ hair or ‘not so healthy hair’.

Treasured Tresses strives to change mindsets and provide knowledge and advice through this blog, our website and our consultations on how people can look after their hair and love what they have.
Hence our name, we want everyone to “Treasure their Tresses”.

Annie xoxo

7 comments

  1. Cannot stand the term ‘Nappy’ either. I think it is more acceptable and not viewed as derogatory in the US. Over in the UK, it only ever has negative connotations. Kinky is not a term I’m familiar with as being negative though – probably because it’s not a term I hear often. I usually just say “Afro” hair when describing a black woman’s natural hair….

    1. treasuredtresses · · Reply

      I understand that people say the word ‘kinky’ or ‘kinky curly’ not necessarily as a negative but it’s a word that I do not personally use a lot. Annie xoxo

  2. Love yout post so much tht i was inspired to make a post on the topic. Check it out. http://coilyadventure.tumblr.com/post/8690301730/nappy

  3. treasuredtresses · · Reply

    Thank you for the comment and for your link via your blog post.

    I read your blog and 100% agree with all you said.
    I’m glad we are on the same page hunnie.xx

    Annie xoxo

  4. I use it all – curly, kinky, nappy, etc. Knowing women with curly hair, I believe my hair is more than that. I could say super curly, and I do, or I could say kinky, coily, nappy, etc. These terms, in my opinion, are only derogatory when used in a derogatory manner.

  5. I think its all a bit politically correct but I agree with the overall consensus and the undertones used in such a word. *thumbs up* :- )

  6. […] have come to embrace, which is why there are salons like Oh My Nappy Hair. However, just as many hate the word. It has a long history of being used as a negative, derogatory descriptor of black hair. Just think […]

Leave a comment